hero-angle-alpha hero-angle-beta icon-rss-square icon-instagram icon-rss icon-facebook icon-facebook-square icon-facebook-official icon-twitter icon-twitter-square icon-google-plus icon-google-plus-square icon-linkedin icon-linkedin-square icon-pinterest icon-pinterest-square icon-youtube icon-youtube-square icon-youtube-play icon-search icon-gift icon-graduation-cap icon-home icon-bank icon-envelope icon-envelope-square Cabrini Logo Cabrini Logo icon-chevron-right icon-chevron-left category academics category athletics category just for fun category service and mission category living on campus category profiles category advice category activities and events Cabrini University logo with crest
Return Home

Cabrini News

Recognition Ceremony Honors 2021 Student Leaders

Posted on 5/4/2021 4:13:29 PM

The Division of Student Life honored several outstanding students during the 2021 Cavalier Leadership Recognition Ceremony on Monday, May 3 in the Dixon Center.

President Donald B. Taylor, PhD, thanked the student leaders, “who never in a million years thought their world would be turned upside down from a global pandemic during their last 15 months in college.”

Representing areas across the University, these award-winning individuals have demonstrated exemplary leadership, commitment, and enthusiasm, and are shining examples of the Cabrinian spirit for their peers and the entire campus community.


“The lessons you learned firsthand were about being able to adapt, to be resilient, and to support one another,” said Taylor. “These are leadership traits that will serve you well as you embark on your next journey, whether it be the workforce or continuing studies in graduate/professional school.”

In a recent blog post, Who’s Who winner and senior Alexis Sharp reflected on what it means to be a leader at Cabrini.

“I truly believe a leader is someone who can make a change, no matter how big or small,” she said. “Great leaders have a remarkable impact on all lives they encounter.”

See the complete list of award winners below:

Emerging Leader of the Year Departmental Award Winners

Residence Life—Isaiah Saddler
SEaL—Mark Phillips
Athletics/Rec—Gerald Haftmann
Campus Ministry—Briana Walsh
Diversity—Aquil Fletcher and Derrick Burnside

Leader of the Year Departmental Award Winners

Residence Life—Johnathan Papp and Anthony Frasca
SEaL—Megan Droege
Athletics/Rec—Brianna Blair and Nadya Gibson
Campus Ministry—Evarlyne Ndeti
Diversity—Emily Neiman and Naiser Warren-Robinson

Student Organization Awards

Outstanding Student Organization—Black Student Union (BSU)
Outstanding Student Organization Leader—Emily Neiman
Outstanding Student Organization Leader—Naiser Warren-Robinson
Outstanding Student Organization Advisor—Maia Magrakvelidze


Additional Awards

Outstanding Inclusive Leader—Ixchele Ortiz
Outstanding Commuter Student—Kayla Hunt

Overall Division Award Winners

Dean’s Award for Emerging Leader of the Year—Nadya Gibson
Vice President’s Award for Leader of the Year—Evarlyne Ndeti

Who’s Who at Cabrini University

Shannon Agnew
Rakayat Alam
Fabiola Alfred
Nuresebah Alkadir
Gabriella Ayala
Brianna Blair
Joseph Brennan
Alexis Caputo
Juan Castro-Caro
Natalia Chiriaco-Sousa
Kailey Currao
Sofia Domingot
Sierra Dotson
Nadya Gibson
Rocio Gonzalez-Rojas
Maria Hagan
David Hare
Maria Khan
Amy Kodrich
Alyssa Kuryluk
Kaitlyn Lannon
Amanda Lynn
Kathleen McCauley
Jemmy Medina Raya
Alexandra Monteiro
Luisanna Mora
Ceonna Morris-Hayes
Evarlyne Ndeti
Brittany Purdy
Paulina Repollet
Brittany Romano
Mary Scafidi
Alexis Sharp
Julia Smith
Ashley Tutzauer
Aislinn Walsh

The following students were recognized for completing LEADStrong:

Daniel Merkh
Evarlyne Ndeti
Ixchele Ortiz
Mary Scafidi

 View event photos