hero-angle-alpha hero-angle-beta icon-rss-square icon-instagram icon-rss icon-facebook icon-facebook-square icon-facebook-official icon-twitter icon-twitter-square icon-google-plus icon-google-plus-square icon-linkedin icon-linkedin-square icon-pinterest icon-pinterest-square icon-youtube icon-youtube-square icon-youtube-play icon-search icon-gift icon-graduation-cap icon-home icon-bank icon-envelope icon-envelope-square Cabrini Logo Cabrini Logo icon-chevron-right icon-chevron-left category academics category athletics category just for fun category service and mission category living on campus category profiles category advice category activities and events Cabrini University logo with crest
Return Home

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Advisory Council

DEI Advisory Council Mission Statement

In trying to reverse a trend in which all students have not felt welcome at Cabrini University, which has been especially true for BIPOC students, LatinX students, LGBTQIA+ students, first generational students, and international students. This Advisory Council committee seeks to provide recommendations, goals, outcome indicators, and accountability measures to the Cabrini University senior leadership team, with the hopes of advocating for true equity for students and a robust inclusivity infrastructure, in which everyone feels a sense of belonging at Cabrini University.


How do we define Diversity, Equity & Inclusion at Cabrini

Diversity: Individual differences, such as personality, learning styles, life experiences, and group or social differences, including race, ethnicity, socioeconomic class, gender, sexual orientation, nationality, ability, and cultural, political, religious, or other affiliations.

Equity: The creation of opportunities for historically underrepresented populations to have equal access to educational programs and professional opportunities; closing the achievement gaps in student success and completion as well as professional advancement for employees.

Inclusion: The active, intentional, and ongoing engagement with diversity to increase one’s awareness, knowledge, and empathic understanding of the complex ways individuals interact within systems and institutions; building community; providing a voice to all members of the community.

Who is the DEI Advisory Council?

We are a collection of diverse individuals:

  • who represent a cross section of the Cabrini University community, including, current students, alumni, faculty, staff, and trustees
  • who have chosen to unite to improve diversity, equity and inclusion amongst the Cabrini students’ and campus community
  • who care about Cabrini University students’ educational, social and spiritual experiences

  • who will provide SMART (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, Time-bound) recommendations/goals

  • who each possess unique skill sets and expertise to address racial, implicit bias and microaggression issues

  • who will be flexible, innovative, collaborative, responsive and receptive 

  • who welcome the opportunity to have uncomfortable conversations without personal offense

  • who are entrusted to hold the Board of Trustees and Cabrini University leadership accountable

Members of the DEI Advisory Council

Nuresebah (Nuri) Alkadir
President, Active Minds

Jessica Arocho ('21)

President, Student Government
Samantha Belle
President, Pura Vida
Brianna Blair ('21) Student-Athlete, Women's Soccer, Women's Basketball
Saleem Brown ('04) Associate Director, First-Year Experience and Student Transitions sab722@cabrini.edu
Treci Butler ('18) Alumnus
Tom Conway, EdD Assistant Professor of Education trc23@cabrini.edu
Kate Corcoran Associate Director of Athletics clc722@cabrini.edu
Anne Filippone, ABD
Co-Director, Nerney Leadership Institute
Executive Director of Student Engagement & Leadership
Dr. Maya Gordon Associate Professor of Psychology mkg38@cabrini.edu
Jake Goss ('22) Student-Athlete, Men's Lacrosse
Hernan Guaracao Member, Board of Trustee
David Howell Athletics Communications Director dhowell@cabrini.edu
Kimberly Lewis Admissions, Executive Director kl10650@cabrini.edu
Emily Neiman ('22) President, Spectrum
Abel Rodriguez

Director, Center on Immigration
Assistant Professor of Religion, Law, and Social Justice

Jose Rodriguez Chief Diversity Officer jose.rodriguez@cabrini.edu
Sherrise Rowe Director of Alumni Diversity, Equity and Inclusion sr3424@cabrini.edu
Dr. Rachel Slaughter Member, Board of Trustees
Dr. Vivian Smith Assistant Professor of Sociology & Criminology; PhD Chair vcs29@cabrini.edu
Robyn Suchy ('14) President, Alumni Board
Eric Tidwell ('96) Member, Board of Trustees
Dr. Chioma Ugochukwu Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs cu10039@cabrini.edu
Naiser Warren-Robinson ('23) President, Black Student Union
Ron Whitaker, EdD Assistant Professor of Education; Director of the Center for Urban Education, Equity, and Improvement rw579@cabrini.edu

  View DEI Advisory Council Working Groups

Vision. Impact. Growth.

Discover Cabrini University's strategic plan for diversification, sustainable growth, and expanded outreach.