hero-angle-alpha hero-angle-beta icon-rss-square icon-instagram icon-rss icon-facebook icon-facebook-square icon-facebook-official icon-twitter icon-twitter-square icon-google-plus icon-google-plus-square icon-linkedin icon-linkedin-square icon-pinterest icon-pinterest-square icon-youtube icon-youtube-square icon-youtube-play icon-search icon-gift icon-graduation-cap icon-home icon-bank icon-envelope icon-envelope-square Cabrini Logo Cabrini Logo icon-chevron-right icon-chevron-left category academics category athletics category just for fun category service and mission category living on campus category profiles category advice category activities and events Cabrini University logo with crest
Return Home
Cabrini students in front of the Capitol

Jolyon Pitt Girard Distinguished Scholar‑in‑Residence

The Jolyon Pitt Girard Distinguished Scholar-in-Residence was established in 2008 in honor of Jolyon P. Girard, PhD, who taught history and political science at Cabrini for more than 35 years.

The Scholar‑in‑Residence enables Cabrini to bring to campus historians or other appropriate scholars who have earned recognition for outstanding scholarship, and who share Girard’s passion for teaching.

The program was made possible by contributions from more than 120 donors.

2018-19 Girard Scholar:
Dr. David Farber

Wednesday, Nov. 14, 2018, in the Mansion at Cabrini University 

  • 7:30–9pm: “1968: 50 Years Later - What it Meant Then, What it Means Now.” 
    Keynote Lecture and Question-and-Answer Session
  • All are welcome to attend this free event.
  • Directions are available at cabrini.edu/directions.

Dr. David Farber is the Roy A. Roberts Distinguished Professor at the University of Kansas. Farber is an expert in Modern America, politics, political culture, social change movements, counterculture, business and society, and capitalism in twentieth-century U.S. History. Dr. Farber earned his BA in History and English at the University of Michigan and his MA and PhD from the University of Chicago.

Farber is author/editor of over ten books and nearly fifty essays, book chapters and articles. His books include The Age of Great Dreams: America in the 1960s (1994), The Rise and Fall of Modern American Conservatism (2010), Chicago '68 (1988). He is completing Crack: A History to be published by Cambridge University Press. Dr. Farber has researched and written extensively on neo-conservatism, and he is one of the foremost experts on the 1960s, particularly the year 1968. This year, the fiftieth anniversary of 1968, Dr. Farber has served as invited/ keynote scholar at Northwestern University, the University of Virginia, and the Missouri Valley History Conference.

Founded in 2008, the Scholar-in-Residence Program at Cabrini University honors the 35-year teaching career of Jolyon Girard, PhD, in the University’s History Department. The program brings eminent historians to campus as a way to honor the creativity of teaching, something Girard personified at Cabrini.


Past Honorees

2017 - R.B. Bernstein, JD

  • Lecturer of Law and Political Science at the Colin Powell School of Civic and Global Leadership at the City College of New York
  • Distinguised Adjunct Professor of Law at New York Law School

2016 - Thomas J. Sugrue, PhD

  • Professor of Social and Cultural Analysis and History at New York University

2015 - Heather Cox Richardson, PhD

  • Professor of 19th-Century American History at Boston College

2014 - Douglas A. Blackmon

  • Pulitzer-Prize-winning author

2013 - Harold Holzer

  • Senior Vice President for Public Affairs at The Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • Author of “The Civil War in 50 Objects” and “1863: Lincoln’s Pivotal Year”

2012 - Martha Ackmann, PhD 

  • Award-winning journalist, author, and editor
  • John Simon Guggenheim Fellow and Augustus Anson Whitney Scholar in Non‑Fiction at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University

2011 - Bettye Collier-Thomas, PhD 

  • Professor of History at Temple University
  • Public Policy Scholar at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

2010 - Randall M. Miller, PhD 

  • William Dirk Warren ’50 Sesquicentennial Chair
  • Professor of History at Saint Joseph’s University

2009 - Gary W. Gallagher, PhD

  • John L. Nau III Professor of History of the American Civil War at the University of Virginia

Vision. Impact. Growth.

Discover Cabrini University's strategic plan for diversification, sustainable growth, and expanded outreach.